Posted in Reviews

Changing the narrative

The world must respect us, they must see us, they must understand who we are as AfricansMo Abadu

Last week I shared a few of my favorite things and gave insight in the few media platforms that inspire me. One of the few things I did not get to share was my love for the television show CNN African Voices. The truth is if I was to list all the things am currently obsessed with I would have to probably publish a novel. Thus, why not simply write a new blog post.

 I discovered the show when my sister did her usual stealing of the television remote and demanded we watch African voices on CNN . Her friend’s brother from Rwanda was featured in that week’s episode. Part of me was embarrassed that as much as I am on this self-discovery journey of appreciating my Africa, there was so much I still did not know.

African voices has provided a platform for Africans to showcase their talents. Every week a new episode focuses on different individuals excelling in the food business, arts or sports. I cannot begin to express my excitement at watching a global show that has managed to change the narrative and focus on the good that comes out of Africa.

On this week’s episode of African Voices, I was particularly drawn to Mo Abadu, a Nigerian Media mogul. If like me your addicted to television talk shows then you will recognize her from the television show Moments with Mo. Mo argues that the Media today should produce content that is diverse. The media shapes and creates public opinion as well as builds strength within our society.

I think one of the main things that has pushed me to search and write content from and for Africa is feeling that I was not properly represented both as an African and black woman. It is more than inspiring for me to see that fellow African women are pushing for the same agenda. We must change the narrative, our stories must be told by us and given the attention they deserve.

Take a look at this week’s episode of CNN African Voices by clicking the link below and hopefully you will get to discover and celebrate Africa’s rich diversity and creativity.

 

http://edition.cnn.com/videos/world/2017/03/27/african-voices-mo-abudu-nigeria-media-mogul-a.cnn

Author:

I really like happy feet!

Leave a Reply

